Music Monday: Fooling Around

Morning everyone! Long time no see etc. I’m really becoming slack with some things, and while I may have a full time job right now, I need to learn how to balance everything so I don’t let anything slide.

Today however, it is cool and rainy outside, after a weekend with Perth’s hottest August day on record and some awesome sports. My “current mood” is quite melancholy though chilled, almost as if I’m having my own day inside reading and listening to music instead of battling to sit through a thousand and one oral presentations (because yes, I planned so well as to have two classes doing presentations on the same days, so smart!).

This week’s music, and really this month’s music, starts with Elvin Bishop’s Fooled Around And Fell In Love and throws in a little bit of The Runaways, David Bowie and Marvin Gaye among other awesome tracks. One of my favourite movies ever and my favourite album at the moment – Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1. 

My favourite songs on this album are I’m Not In Love, Fooled Around and Fell In Love and Spirit In The Sky, though that is changing daily and depending on my life events. What I love about this soundtrack is that It’s throwback music which I have always been a fan of (ask my dad!) but for some reason goes hand in hand with intergalactic adventurers. The movie is one I watch when I can’t sleep or need a cheer up (thanks Netflix!) and this album is quickly becoming one that instantly relaxes me. Admittedly a lot of albums can do that, but rarely ones from multiple artists. One of the main reasons I am looking forward to the next Guardians movie is seeing what they do with Awesome Mix Vol 2. 

Off to mark some student work, or continue reading Invasion of the Tearling. I feel like we all know which one will end up happening…

Happy Monday!

signature

 

PS: Happy birthday to my Galentine’s date Rachael! xox

Leave a Reply

