Andrea’s First Fun Run!

So I have just gotten back from my first fun run (with little to no preparation)! 4km for the HBF Run for a Reason  here in Perth. I have been wanting to do one for awhile, and although my lead in was not at all what I would have liked, my results turned out better than I expected.

I went with my best friend who is a hardcore runner (she’s in a running club and told me her 4km PB was 23 minutes!!) so I knew I was already pushing myself, and we put ourselves in the “C” category which had a suggested race time of 35-45 minutes. My goal was to finish in under 50 minutes (this coming from someone who’s usual outdoor 5km is one whole hour..) but I ended up with a time of 42:19! AND this would have been lower had it not been for all the prams and walkers I had to dodge and try get in front of, as well as the gravel on the last 1km at Gloucester Park (I had planned to try actually run as opposed to power walk the last kilometre, but figured that gravel+running+Andrea=falling.)
For my first one I think I did well, next time I think I’m going to try get under 40 minutes, but baby steps I know! I had fun, listened to Gilmore Guys the whole way instead of music but I was more just looking around trying not to bump into people. The route was great and I had a lot of fun (except for the “getting up early on my Sunday” part).
Feeling great, hope you all are too!
Love,
Andrea20150524_114034 So_apparently_this_is_a_thing_I_m_doing_now...
One thought on “Andrea’s First Fun Run!”

Leave a Reply

