Top Ten Most Anticipated (but not necessarily debut) Novels

toptentuesday

I decided I would adjust this week’s The Broke and the Bookish Top Ten Tuesday topic from most anticipated debut novel to most anticipated overall. I am a big series reader, mostly YA, fantasy and mystery/crime, though I am attempting to broaden my horizons this year. So without further ado, these are the ten books that I am so looking forward to this year that I will actually buy a physical copy of it!

I have this thing where if I truly love a book/movie/album, I will buy an actually copy of it as opposed to buying it online/ebooking or downloading it using… “itunes.” Lately this has included The Monogram Murders, Gone Girl, Firefly, Star Wars on bluray and The OC.

  1. Royal Wedding – Meg Cabot
  2. From The Notebooks of a Middle-School Princess – Meg Cabot
    These are probably my most anticipated books this year. I grew up with Mia Thermopolis; she was in high school when I was going through similar things to me (although I desperately wished to get the “You’re a princess” call to no avail), and I identified with her so, SO much.
  3. The Sword of Summer – Rick Riordan
    2014 brought with it an end to the world of Percy Jackson. After setting the Greek and Egyptian gods in modern realms, Riordan turns to Norse mythology for his next series following a young man named Magnus Chase (who I do hope is related to one Annabeth). I uber love mythology and even though I may be starting to age out of the target audience, I cannot wait for this book.
  4. Mr Kiss And Tell – Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham
    The second Veronica Mars novel following last year’s incredible movie. Enough said.
  5. The Ruby Circle – Richelle Mead
    The final chapter in the Bloodlines saga. I have to say that I am enjoying this series a lot more than Vampire Academy. As much as I loved Rose, Sage is just so much more kick ass!
  6. 14th Deadly Sin – James Patterson
    Women’s Murder Club number 14.
  7. Killing Monica – Candace Bushnell
  8. Modern Romance – Aziz Ansari
  9. Precious and the Zebra Necklace – Alexander McCall Smith
    I fell in love with Botswana and Precious Ramotswe with the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency many years ago, and I actually own many books in that series. However I lost track of the series awhile ago, and this year I want to get back into it. Being an African-born gal, I found so much of these books stirring something in me. The TV series is awesome too!
  10. Fred Hollows biography – Ray Martin
    When I was 11 and had to do an oral presentation (I can’t remember exactly what on), I chose to talk about Fred Hollows. As a very, VERY shortsighted person, I find his work enthralling and his foundation continues to be one that I support regularly.

Other authors (and series) I hope have  books that will be released this year: Kerry Greenwood (Phryne Fisher), Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum), Sue Grafton (Kinsey Millhone), James Patterson (Confessions), JK Rowling (Robert Galbraith), and a dozen more that I’m sure I will think of sometime during the year.

And, as always, I pray to the deities of writing and literature that The Winds of Winter gets a release date.

What are you looking forward to reading this year? Have I missed any obvious anticipated releases? Let me know down below!

Love,
Andrea

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated (but not necessarily debut) Novels”

  1. I miss Precious Ramotswe. It’s been ages since I last read a book in that series. I am way behind. I’m unfortunately way behind with a lot of my series reading. I’m a big series reader too.

    Here’s a great year of books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

