Music Monday: The Cup of Life

I am a soccer (football, shush!) obsessive, and even though the Socceroos are going to have it so rough this year (there’s a line of betting of them not scoring a single goal all tournament), I am still so so excited for this Thursday! I have been listening to these three songs repeatedly all this week, and I think they are the perfect tracks to inspire that sporting passion, that national pride and absolute wonder that comes with the World Cup.

The Cup of Life – Ricky Martin (1998)

 

 

Waka Waka (This Time for Africa) – Shakira (2010)
(This song gives me goosebumps every time I hear it, and even though I have not lived in South Africa for 23 years, I still have such pride at being Saf and having had the biggest event in the world held in South Africa four years ago)

 

 

La La La (Brazil 2014) – Shakira featuring Carlinhos Brown (2014)
(Yes, I know that this is not the offical World Cup song for this year, but I’m not really a fan of that on as much as I worship at the altar of Jennifer Lopez)

Here is the official 2014 World Cup song, by Pitbull featuring Jennifer Lopez and Claudia Leitte:

 

Hope your team does well this World Cup! My money this year is on the host nation (Brazil) or the Dutch, though I think the African nations can pull off a few surprise results too.

Love,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

