Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

toptentuesday

It is killing me to no end that while today is the third day of winter here in little old Perth, almost everything else I read is gearing up for summer! Fortunately that also allows me to vicariously live through what I read and imagine that it is in fact summer and I am sitting on a beach instead of huddled up underneath my doona getting warmth from my laptop.

I am a sucker for any kind of summer article, book, movie, music anything. it just makes me feel so happy and warm. Most importantly it helps me to forget my mounting troubles and (as corny as this may be) radiate some sort of inner warmth. So without further ado, and brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish,  here are my top ten books that will be in my beach bag this summer, and that I always end up reading during my December to February summer.

  1. Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
  2. Summer Crossing – Truman Capote
  3. South Beach (and the rest of the Spring Break series: French Kiss and Hollywood Hills) – Aimee Friedman
  4. Boy Meets Girl – Meg Cabot
  5. Surf School and Surf Sisters – Laurine Croasdale
  6. The Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis
  7. Silver Shadows – Richelle Mead (what I will be reading when you guys are all having summer)
  8.  Top Secret Twenty-One – Janet Evanovich (ditto)
  9. Unlucky 13 – James Patterson (ditto)
  10. The Fault In Our Stars – John Green (ditto, plus I figure I may as well read it now)

Hope you guys are staying warm (if like me you are beginning the descent into winter) or pumping up the summer jams!

Love,
Andrea

13 thoughts on “Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer”

    1. I’d imagine so, with the movie and everything. The girls I teach have been begging me to read this all year, I’m hoping it’s gonna be worth all the hype!

      Like

  1. I’ve never read Breakfast at Tiffany’s, but the movie is great. Maybe I should consider that a classic to get to before the summer ends!

    Like

    1. I love both the book and the movie for different reasons. They’re both very different and I think the book more so has that summertime feel, but both of them are absolute classics for me!

      Like

    1. Thanks! In Cold Blood is definitely a different beast compared to his other work, really intense, so I definitely understand what you’re feeling there. I love the Narnia books too, though I tend to go for The Horse and his Boy and Dawn Treader more.

      Like

  2. I already read The Fault in Our Stars last year and the first three Narnia books, but I hope I’ll go try for the rest of the series by the way. I… must… READ… the last four books of Narnia!!! 😉 Thanks for your list.

    Like

  3. Nice list . . . Breakfast at Tiffany’s is a fantastic read. It’s one of the handful of books I’ve read more than once. Really, you can’t go wrong with anything by Capote. You should check out his collected short stories. Brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

