What Shakespeare Taught Me: In Text and Film

I love Shakespeare and I loved this, has inspired me to write some of my own stuff on my favourite plays and lessons from his works. I recently watched Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing which just blew me away, having not read the play beforehand but instead reading along with it while watching the movie. Right this second, my favourites are probably Much Ado About Nothing, A Midsummer Night’s Dream and The Tempest, but that will probably change by next week!

Hope you’re having a good one!
Love,
Andrea

Thought Catalog

Before the commencement of my undergraduate career, the name Shakespeare conjured thoughts of archaic language and complicated plotlines.  Four years later, I am preparing to write my thesis on this playwright and am waiting for a free moment to read Will of the World:  How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare.  Obviously this is not to say that I find every work of Shakespeare brilliant but there are a select few plays that admittedly impacted my life and worldview in various ways.  I cannot deny however that as much as I appreciate the text, the film versions of the plays only enhanced my understanding and love of this playwright’s work.  If you’re at all hesitant to embrace Shakespeare, I have included my favorite film versions—all of which highlight Shakespeare’s talent as not only a playwright, but as a philosopher and intellect.

1.  Hamlet 

Love, betrayal, death, power struggles…this play has it all. …

View original post 725 more words

Leave a Reply

