Friday Five: Greatest Non-Champions (Day 83)

Greatest NBA Players* To Never Win A Title

*Let me first preface this by saying, this is based largely on players that I have seen play live, not old videos, so really it’s my list of greatest players never to win a title. I haven’t seen much if any of the NBA prior to 2004 so my thoughts are based on that. Let me again emphasise this: I am making my list up of players that I have watched live. So feel free to educate me! I am also not going to include current players who are still in the midst of their careers such as Dwight Howard or Carmelo Anthony (though I make an exception for Steve Nash because as much as it pains me to admit I feel his time is coming) I will also here admit to a teenage love for Luke Walton after watching one of the Detroit/Lakers finals games where he must have played almost average or something. So clearly I am not too discriminating in my tastes but hopefully this week’s list is a little more educated than that.

Reggie Miller
I feel that this is all that needs to be said about Reggie Miller:

Karl Malone (and I’ll also add here John Stockton though I’ve never seen him play)


Steve Nash

In 2010 and at age 36 Steve Nash beat three point guards in their early 20s in the All Star weekend Skills Challenge. While yes, there are certainly other things that hold a lot more merit; this is still one of the ones I love most about Nash. How many people wish he had stayed in Phoenix now, especially this season?

Charles Barkley (I haven’t seen him play, but from old games I have seen and of course Space Jam this seems like a no brainer. I am of course joking about Space Jam.

Dikembe Mutombo

Honourable Mentions (retired or near): Tracy McGrady, Brandon Roy, Vince Carter, Allen Iverson, Grant Hill

Honourable Mentions (current): Derrick Rose, Chris Paul, Kevin Durant, Dwight Howard

Players formerly on my list: Kevin Garnett, Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Kidd

Let me know what you think! Who have I missed (of the era I’ve covered)?

Love,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

