Music Monday: Hip Hop Hooray for Summer (Day 16)

Drums please!

I love a good summer playlist, and today’s music is in that vein, however instead of the usual Jack Johnson, Sublime and Bruce Springsteen I have decided to go in a different direction. I am a child of the golden age of rap, hip hop and R&B, so much so that I listen to those songs way more than any recent music, and when a friend recently asked me to think of a better rapper than Drake and Kendrick Lamar (both of whom I will freely admit I barely listen to) I immediately replied with “Did you not live through the last decade of the the century? I could press shuffle on my itunes and come up with a better rapper than those two.”

Needless to say my friend and I will never agree. But I am very happy to present my summer list for this week, starring (in my opinion) some of the best rap, hip hop and R&B artists ever.

  1. California Love – 2pac
  2. Summertime – Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince
  3. Regulate – Warren G
  4. Hey Lover – LL Cool J
  5. Beautiful – Snoop Dogg and Pharrell Williams
  6. Hot in HerreNelly
  7. Runaway – Janet Jackson
  8. Ride Wit Me – Nelly
  9. Dreamlover – Mariah Carey
  10. It Was A Good Day – Ice Cube
  11. Pimpin’ All Over The World – Ludacris

Hope you have a great Monday, and remember that: ain’t no need of even askin’ brah, the best women are reside in Africa, and that’s real.

l_9a86c3a3

Love,
Andrea

 

Leave a Reply

