Sweet Potato Pie (Day 8)

For as long as I have read books and watched TV shows and movies that are set in the South (of the United States), I have longed to find recipes for the food they seem to just cook en mass. At the top of my list was sweet potato pie, a combination of both sweet potato and baking which I love. I first made this recipe a few years ago, I think I found it online somewhere (maybe taste?) and since then my brother has been on me to make it again every time I say I’m in the mood to bake. Since moving house, I haven’t really used my kitchen much but faced with a day home alone and with a dinner party this evening, I thought I would give it another go. The only changes to the original recipe that I have made is the addition of vanilla essence and the preheating of the oven. So without further ado, I present to you my recipe for Sweet Potato Pie!

20131208_143956

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 unbaked pastry shell, approx. 9 inches
  • 3 cups cooked mashed sweet potatoes (this was roughly three and a bit medium sized potatoes)
  • ¼ cup butter
  • 1 ¼ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup evaporated milk
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 ½ tsp cinnamon
  • roughly ½ tsp (or a couple of drops) vanilla essence

20131208_132618

  1. Preheat oven to around 120 degrees Celcius
  2. Peel, dice, cook and mash potatoes, use a little butter to make it easier. (I do mine chopped up small in boiling water in the microwave for around 5 minutes, then mash with a couple teaspoons of butter)
    20131208_131904
  3. Combine potatoes and butter in a bowl, mix well.
  4. Put potatoes, sugar and eggs into a blender and blend on low until smooth
  5. Add milk, spices and vanilla; blend well until it looks kind of like pumpkin soup.
  6. Pour into pastry shell
    20131208_134819( My mixture today was a little too much for my pastry shell; once the mixture started to settle it started to overflow onto the crust, so I had to spoon some of the mixture out of the casing. I ended up using it in quiche moulds with puff pastry to make mini pies which I put in the oven after the big pie at the same temperature for around 15-20 minutes. Puff pastry doesn’t taste as nice as shortcrust with the sweet potato, but by all account the mini mixtures were still delicious!)
    20131208_140923
  7. Put into the oven at about 175 degrees Celsius (or 350 degrees Fahrenheit) for 45-50 minutes or until firm and golden brown (Because I had preheated my oven, my pie ended up coming out at around 40 minutes, but I think it’ll depend on the oven, and where in the oven you put the pie. Generally I like to judge more by firmness, texture and colour when I am baking because my oven tends to be very unpredictable).

20131208_150238

Generally I serve this by itself, but I think it would go well with cream, custard or vanilla ice cream though it is already very sweet. I’m hoping to make a couple more for my various Christmas meals, they have proven to be crowd pleasers!

Hope your pies come out just as good as mine did, and you have people clamouring for your recipe again like me!

Love,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

