Obligation Viewing and Guilty Pleasures (Day 4)

Image

So as previously mentioned, between all my job applying and basketball playing I’m getting very into The Vampire Diaries at the moment. Currently I am in the middle of the episode where (SPOILER!!) Caroline reveals to her mother that she is a vampire when the sheriff is killing Damon and Stefan. Also in this episode is some Tyler and Jeremy bromancing (Tyler is my new love, I can’t resist some almost-werewolf brooding).

While there is still a lot of the show that I can watch, I still get cravings to watch other shows. For instance, Paul Wesley makes me want to watch The OC, and I’m also still in the middle of Veronica Mars and Gilmore Girls. However I’m also in the mood to watch something new. One of my friends has Downton Abbey, Breaking Bad, Vikings and Dracula and while I’m not one to watch something just because everyone else is (i.e. DA and BB) I am curious about the appeal. I will be the first to admit that I watch a lot of junk shows, and sometimes I prefer them to the so called Shows (Homeland, Mad Men, Sons of Anarchy, The Walking Dead) that are supposed to be the best. Breaking Bad for example I sometimes want to watch, but because it was EVERYWHERE this year I know what happens to Walter White which makes me not as keen.

What is it about shows that distinguish them between being ones you must watch (and then talk about on every social platform) and ones that are guilty pleasures (shows that you know your “smart” friends would make fun of you for, but that you still talk about on every social platform)? Maybe that speaks to my own tastes, but I would gladly watch another season of Gossip Girl or 90210 over Mad Men or Homeland. Some of those shows I end up obligation watching; that is watching them purely because I’ve watched earlier seasons or I feel I have to watch them. Homeland especially I’m finding I’m a little bit over, I’m about four episodes behind because I can never get in the mood to watch them over the shows that I love more. I’ll probably end up watching them on VLC in a faster speed just to get through the episodes.

Currently on my “unwatched yet owned” list I have:

  • Curb Your Enthusiasm
  • Bored To Death
  • Half of The Unit
  • Stargate SG1
  • Sons of Anarchy
  • Chuck
  • Half of Generation Kill
  • Half of season three of Homeland

While on the “shows I feel like watching” (besides new episodes):

  • The OC
  • Veronica Mars
  • Gilmore Girls
  • Vampire Diaries
  • Supernatural

I’m starting to see quite a difference between those two lists. One is shows that I feel more obligated to watch as well as finding them interesting, while the other is teen and supernatural CW fare, more guilty pleasure than intellectually stimulating. Except for Veronica, she’s in a class of her own.

What else should I be watching? What shows might I be missing that I wold love? I’m off to ponder that while starting episode six of season two (SPOILER AGAIN That slut Katherine. Why must she have her claws in Mason too? He’s so dreamy! I love how Nina Dobrev can make me love Elena and yet love-hate Katherine, such different character personifications) of The Vampire Diaries.

Love,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

