Adrift (Day3)

Image

Adrift
adv. & adj.

1. Drifting or floating freely; not anchored.

2. Without direction or purpose:

One of my friends is going to the Jack Johnson concert this weekend at King’s Park and I was looking at my merchandise from one of his last shows in Perth that I was able to go to.

One of the song titles (because the words are all tracks from Sleep Through the Static) that stood out to me, even though it is in pretty small print, was Adrift. It seems rather apt for the way that I am feeling right now.

I have so much that I want to accomplish and so much that depends on me doing so, but I almost always feel overwhelmed by it all and just adrift in my own little world. I know I should be getting out into the real world, but it’s a scary place for someone as woefully unprepared as I.

I looked up the lyrics to Adrift, and it’s just made me more melancholy as it speaks to my current personal life situation a little too directly.

Your voice is adrift
I can’t expect it to sing to me
As if I was the only one

And so, feeling a little bit listless, I am heading out to McCallum Park to snap myself out of this mood in the sunshine.

Hope you are having a better day than I am!
Love,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

