Friday Five: Awesome Events of the Week

1) I wrote a theology essay on an article detailing a new (1980s) reading of the Ten Commandments in less than 4 hours the day that it was due. While yes, this is a practice that I usually frown upon, procrastination is my worst habit and it’s a struggle to defeat. But I woke up early on Wednesday, took the bus in the freezing cold to uni and sat in the library writing until it got to about 11.30am and all of a sudden my word count was at 1500! and without an over-reliance on quotes either (if you don’t count the actual Commandments). I usually don’t rate my last minute writing skills very highly, but the High Distinction that I got on my last major essay would speak otherwise.

2) Bestie and I (potentially) found a new basketball team to play on. Admittedly it is in whoop whoop, on Sunday afternoons/evenings AND a mixed team, but still, its actual basketball!
A bonus part of this I’ll add is Monday night hang outs watching another friend play basketball and getting to catch up with him on the long rides to and from the stadium. Hearing all the squeaking of shoes and bouncing of balls on the courts made me homesick, leading to my newly determined pursuit of a basketball team.

3) Finding new books on Google Play and Amazon Kindle. Almost sacrilege for a stark “natural” bibliophile such as myself, but I think I made up for it finding one of the best books about books that I have read in a long, long time: Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. A detective, Da Vinci Code type story set deeply within the world of books and Google, giving it (in my opinion) a cross market appeal to traditional book lovers and those immersed in the technological realms. My only gripe with it would be the almost “wrapped up in a bow” type ending. Everything seemed to fall into place quite easily, although perhaps that is me just wanting more and more of the book to read!

4) Just when I was getting used to the fact that, thanks to my new living arrangement, I would not likely ever feel an actual book in my hands I find myself falling deeper and deeper in lust (can’t call it love yet) with eBooks, having come into possession of 130 new, FREE, eBooks. How, I have no idea, you’d have to ask my step-dad’s friend Alex, who like me is a book/tv/movie nut. It was actually a little cute when he brought out his hard drive after giving me the books and said he had 200GBs of movies he could lend me, only for me to pull out my two 1TB drives and say the same to him. But back to the books. While it is an eclectic collection to say the least, with authors like Thackeray and Hemingway and Plath among David Sedaris, Chelsea Handler, OJ Simpson and Barack Obama, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face just scrolling through all the authors. I even now have 67 electronic Agatha Christies!

5) And finally, because it simultaneously made me tear up, gave me chills and made me wanna yell “No three peat for you LeBron, only one city where that phrase belongs,” this:

Love,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

